Skip to content
remove unwanted desktop shortcuts
Home » Proactively remove unwanted desktop shortcuts

Proactively remove unwanted desktop shortcuts

More than I would like, I encounter programs that write shortcuts to the public and/or user desktop. This applies to installations as well as (partly) updates. To remove unwanted desktop shortcuts as soon as they appear, I used a Proactive Remediation feature in Endpoint Manager. This allows me to proactively remove desktop shortcuts.

Proactive Remediation Package on GitHub

Requirements - Licenses

  • Enterprise: Windows 10/11 Enterprise E3 or E5 (included in Microsoft 365 F3, E3, or E5)
  • Academic: Windows 10/11 Education A3 or A5 (included in Microsoft 365 A3 or A5)
  • Windows 10/11 Virtual Desktop Access (VDA) per user

More information in the Microsoft Docs: Proactive remediations - Microsoft Endpoint Manager

Detection

The detection script is relatively simple. The first line lists the shortcuts to monitor/remove. These in turn are then searched for on the public desktop or on all desktops. If a link is detected, the script ends with the exit code "1". This tells the endpoint manager to run the remediation script and delete the shortcuts.

$Shortcuts2Remove = "Google Chrome.lnk", "VLC media player.lnk" $DesktopPath = "C:\Users\Public\Desktop" # Public and User Desktop: "C:\Users\*\Desktop\*", for Public Desktop shortcuts only: "C:\Users\Public\Desktop" $ShortcutsOnClient = Get-ChildItem $DesktopPath $ShortcutsUnwanted = $ShortcutsOnClient | Where-Object -FilterScript {$_.Name -in $Shortcuts2Remove } if (!$ShortcutsUnwanted) { Write-Host "All good, no shortcuts found. " exit 0 }else{ Write-Host "Unwanted shortcut detected." Exit 1 }
Code language: PowerShell (powershell)

Remediation

In the remediation script, I use the same logic for detection. The unwanted desktop shortcuts on the public or all desktops are also read out, then all files that were recognized on the local desktop and are in the "Shortcuts2Remove" array are deleted.

$Shortcuts2Remove = "Google Chrome.lnk", "VLC media player.lnk" $DesktopPath = "C:\Users\Public\Desktop" # Public and User Desktop: "C:\Users\*\Desktop\*", for Public Desktop shortcuts only: "C:\Users\Public\Desktop" $ShortcutsOnClient = Get-ChildItem $DesktopPath try{ $($ShortcutsOnClient | Where-Object -FilterScript {$_.Name -in $Shortcuts2Remove }) | Remove-Item -Force Write-Host "Unwanted shortcut(s) removed." }catch{ Write-Error "Error removing shortcut(s)" }
Code language: PowerShell (powershell)

With the detection shown above, we remove unwanted desktop shortcuts proactively and easily.

Facility

If your tenant meets the license requirements, you can go to "Reports > Endpoint analytics > Proactive remediations" create a script package:

create Proactive remediations

You give this a meaningful name and optionally a description.

Proactive remediations Name and description

In the settings you upload the detection.ps1 on the one hand and the remediation.ps1 on the other. Both files can and should be adjusted as needed.

Proactive remediation settings

You only have to set the scope tag if this feature is actively used in your environment.
Otherwise you can continue with the assignment and also define in it how often the detection should be made. I chose hourly here to intercept changes as quickly as possible.

Proactive remediation schedule

Apart from the unwanted shortcuts, do you want to distribute some? Then I have an article for you here: Manage desktop shortcut(s) / icon with Intune

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Zum Inhalt
Home » Ungewollte Desktop Verknüpfungen proaktiv entfernen

Ungewollte Desktop Verknüpfungen proaktiv entfernen

remove unwanted desktop shortcuts

Mehr als mir lieb ist, treffe ich Programme an, die Verknüpfungen auf den Public und/oder Benutzer Desktop schrieben. Dies bei Installationen genauso wie (teilweise) bei Updates. Um ungewollte Desktop Verknüpfungen, sobald sie auftauchen zu entfernen nutzte ich ein Proactive Remediation Funktion des Endpoint Managers. Dieses erlaubt es mir Desktop Verknüpfungen proaktiv zu entfernen.

Proactive Remediation Paket auf GitHub

Voraussetzungen – Lizenzen

  • Enterprise: Windows 10/11 Enterprise E3 or E5 (included in Microsoft 365 F3, E3, or E5)
  • Academic: Windows 10/11 Education A3 or A5 (included in Microsoft 365 A3 or A5)
  • Windows 10/11 Virtual Desktop Access (VDA) per user

Mehr Infos in den Microsoft Docs: Proactive remediations – Microsoft Endpoint Manager

Detection

Das Erkennungs-Script ist relativ simpel. In der ersten Zeile sind die zu überwachenden/entfernenden Verknüpfungen aufgelistet. Diese wiederum werden anschliessend auf dem Public Desktop oder aber auch auf allen Desktops gesucht. Bei der Erkennung einer Verknüpfung endet das Script mit dem Exit Code «1». Dadurch weiss der Endpoint Manager, dass er das Remediation Script ausführen und die Verknüpfungen löschen muss.

$Shortcuts2Remove = "Google Chrome.lnk", "VLC media player.lnk" $DesktopPath = "C:\Users\Public\Desktop" # Public and User Desktop: "C:\Users\*\Desktop\*", for Public Desktop shortcuts only: "C:\Users\Public\Desktop" $ShortcutsOnClient = Get-ChildItem $DesktopPath $ShortcutsUnwanted = $ShortcutsOnClient | Where-Object -FilterScript {$_.Name -in $Shortcuts2Remove } if (!$ShortcutsUnwanted) { Write-Host "All good, no shortcuts found. " exit 0 }else{ Write-Host "Unwanted shortcut detected." Exit 1 }
Codesprache: Power Shell (powershell)

Remediation

Im Remediation Script verwende ich dieselbe Logik bereits bei der Detection. Ebenfalls werden die ungewollten Desktop Verknüpfungen auf dem Public oder allen Desktops ausgelesen, daraufhin werden alle Dateien, welche auf dem lokalen Desktop erkannt wurden und im Array «Shortcuts2Remove » sind, gelöscht.

$Shortcuts2Remove = "Google Chrome.lnk", "VLC media player.lnk" $DesktopPath = "C:\Users\Public\Desktop" # Public and User Desktop: "C:\Users\*\Desktop\*", for Public Desktop shortcuts only: "C:\Users\Public\Desktop" $ShortcutsOnClient = Get-ChildItem $DesktopPath try{ $($ShortcutsOnClient | Where-Object -FilterScript {$_.Name -in $Shortcuts2Remove }) | Remove-Item -Force Write-Host "Unwanted shortcut(s) removed." }catch{ Write-Error "Error removing shortcut(s)" }
Codesprache: Power Shell (powershell)

Mit der oben aufgezeigten Erkennung entfernen wir ungewollte Desktop Verknüpfungen proaktiv und unkompliziert.

Einrichtung

Wenn dein Tenant die Lizenzvoraussetzungen erfüllt, kannst du unter «Reports > Endpoint analytics > Proactive remediations» ein Script Paket erstellen:

create Proactive remediations

Diesem gibst du einen Aussagekräftigen Namen und optional eine Beschreibung.

Proactive remediations Name and description

In den Einstellungen lädst du einerseits das detection.ps1 und andererseits das remediation.ps1 hoch. Beide Dateien kannst und sollst du je nach Bedarf anpassen.

Proactive remediations Settings

Den Scope tag musst du nur setzten, falls dieses Feature in deiner Umgebung aktiv genutzt wird.
Ansonsten kannst du mit der Zuweisung weiter machen und in dieser zudem definieren, wie oft die Erkennung gemacht werden soll. Ich habe hier stündlich gewählt, um Änderungen möglichst schnell abzufangen.

Proactive remediations Schedule

Möchtest du abgesehen von den unerwünschten Verknüpfungen doch einige Verteilen? Dann habe ich hier einen Beitrag für dich: Desktop Verknüpfung(en) / Icon mit Intune verwalten

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.