Skip to content
Home » Run once at Startup - Intune

Run once at Startup - Intune

run once at startup with intune

From time to time it can be useful to execute an action as a "Run once at Startup" script once as a user or system when the computer starts up. Intune does not have a «Run once at Startup» function. That's why I created two scripts that give me the opportunity to make a change or cleanup before the end user opens a program or runs into an error. I have this, for example, with «Clear Microsoft Teams cache once» used.

Because a script doesn't always need to be run with the same permissions, I use two different methods. The first is via Scheduled Task and runs the script as a «System» user. This ensures that tasks with elevated rights or, for example, for all users can be executed at the same time.
The second version uses the «RunOnce registry key» function. This will run the script once as a user. You can easily distribute both scripts with Intune and thus as "Run once at Startup".

You add your code to both scripts after the comment and delete the «Write-Host» part:

Run once code, Intune

Run one at Startup – as User

Windows has one or two simple registry entries that can be used to run a task as a user.

These are the following two:

  • HKCU:\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce
  • HKLM:\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce


The first who is in the "Current User" only executes the task for the specific user himself.
In the second, which is in the "Local Machine" context, the task is executed once for each user.

In my script I intercepted both cases.
If you distribute the script in Intune as a PowerShell script (Devices > Windows > PowerShell scripts), you can select "Yes" or "No" in the options for "Run this script using the logged on credentials". With «Yes», the script will only be executed on the assigned user (The script should then be assigned to a user group). With "No" the script is executed as a system and the registry entry is set in the "Local Machine" content.

Intune PowerShell as user or system

The script is not deleted after execution because it can be used by multiple users.

Run one at Startup – as System

To run the script once when the computer starts up as a system, I use a «Scheduled Task». This task is executed when it starts, executing its defined script, which it then deletes. In addition, the "Scheduled Task" itself is also deleted, so that after execution, there are no remains on the computer apart from the log.

Here, the version as a system must be selected for distribution:

Intune, PowerShell run as system

1 thought on “Run once at Startup – Intune”

  1. Pingback: Open Teams in background | scloud

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Zum Inhalt
Home » Run once at Startup – Intune

Run once at Startup – Intune

run once at startup with intune

Immer mal wieder kann es nützlich sein, eine Aktion, als eine «Run once at Startup» Script einmalig als Benutzer oder System beim Start des Computers auszuführen. Intune hat keine «Run once at Startup» Funktion. Darum habe ich zwei Scripts erstellt, mit welchen ich die Möglichkeit habe, eine Änderung oder Bereinigung durchzuführen, bevor der Endbenutzer ein Programm geöffnet hat, oder in einen Fehler läuft. Dies habe ich beispielsweise beim «Clear Microsoft Teams cache once» eingesetzt.

Da ein Script nicht immer mit derselben Berechtigung ausgeführt werden muss, wende ich zwei unterschiedliche Methoden an. Die Erste ist via Scheduled Task und führt das Script als «System» User aus. So ist gewährleistet, dass auch Tasks mit erhöhten Rechten oder beispielsweise für alle User gleichzeitig ausgeführt werden können.
Die zweite Version nützt die Funktion des «RunOnce-Registry Keys». Dadurch wird das Script einmalig als User ausgeführt. Beie Script kannst du sehr einfach mit Intune und somit als «Run once at Startup» verteilen.

Deinen Code fügst du bei beiden Scripts nach dem Kommentar ein und löschst den «Write-Host» Part:

Run once code, Intune

Run one at Startup – as User

Für die Ausführung eines Tasks als Benutzer gibt es in Windows einen, beziehungsweise zwei einfachen Registry Einträge, welche verwendet werden können.

Dies sind folgende zwei:

  • HKCU:\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce
  • HKLM:\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce


Der Erste, welcher im «Current User» ist, führ nur bei dem spezifischen Benutzer selbst den Task aus.
Im zweiten, der sich im «Local Machine» Kontext befindet, wird der Task bei jedem Benutzer einmalig ausgeführt.

In meinem Script habe ich beide Fälle abgefangen.
Wenn du das Script in Intune als PowerShell Script verteilst (Devices > Windows > PowerShell scripts), kannst du in den Optionen bei «Run this script using the logged on credentials», «Ja» oder «Nein» auswählen. Mit «Ja», wird das Script nur auf dem zugewiesenen Benutzer (Das Script sollte dann einer Benutzer Gruppe zugewiesen werden) ausgeführt. Mit «Nein» wird das Script als System ausgeführt und der Registry Eintrag im «Local Machine» Content gesetzt.

Intune PowerShell as user or system

Das Script wird nach der Ausführung nicht gelöscht, da es von mehreren Usern verwendet werden kann.

Run one at Startup – as System

Um das Script einmalig beim Star des Computers als System auszuführen, verwende ich einen «Scheduled Task». Dieser Task wird beim Start ausgeführt, führt dabei sein definiertes Script aus, welches er im Anschluss löscht. Zudem wird auch der «Scheduled Task» selbst gelöscht, sodass auf dem Computer nach der Ausführung, ausser dem Log keine Reste mehr vorhanden sind.

Hier muss bei der Verteilung zwingend die Ausführung als System ausgewählt sein:

Intune, PowerShell run as system

1 Gedanke zu „Run once at Startup – Intune“

  1. Pingback: Teams im Hintergrund öffnen | scloud

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.